Good Game: Forbidden Siren (PS2)

A Good Game a day for the rest of time perhaps?

Today it’s Forbidden Siren (Siren) a 2004 survival horror stealth game developed by SCE Japan Studio and Project Siren, and published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation 2. The game’s plot revolves around an interconnected cast of characters that possess a power which enables them to see and hear what a nearby character sees.

Siren is divided into stages, each taking place in one of ten areas in the village of Hanuda, and organized chronologically in a table called the “Link Navigator”. In order to complete a stage, the player must accomplish a primary objective that usually involves reaching an exit point, subduing undead enemies called shibito, or finding an item. Objectives in different stages are connected via a butterfly effect, and a character’s actions in one stage can trigger a secondary objective in another stage.

There are miscellaneous items scattered throughout each stage that give the player further insight into the plot’s background. Once obtained, these items are archived in a catalogue and can be viewed at any time during the game’s duration.

The game’s player characters possess a psychic power named “sightjack,” which enables them to see and hear what a nearby Shibito or human sees and hears, and thus pinpoint its position, as well as gain knowledge of their activities and of the position of obtainable items. The clarity of each target depends on the distance from the player character. Once a point of view is located, it can be assigned to one of certain buttons of the controller to easily switch between multiple points of view. However, the player character is unable to move during use of the ability and is thus vulnerable to attack.

Forbidden Siren was followed by two sequels and a loose film adaption.

Watch the video I made below showing about the first 27 minutes of the game.


Forbidden Siren Gameplay.

Developer: SCE Japan Studio, Project Siren.
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment.
Platform: PlayStation 2.
Release : 6th November 2003 (JP), 12th March 2004 (EU), 2oth April 2004 (NA).
Genre: Survival horror, Stealth.